The Sixth Chakra: The Third Eye Or Ajna

Chakras are energy points within the body that run down the spinal column. Each chakra corresponds with energy centers that are powerhouses to living our best life. Check out our past blogs on the following Chakras: Sacral, Root and Heart here.

The Sixth chakra or purple/Indigo chakra also called the Third Eye or Ajna. Which means 'to perceive' and this chakra is located between your eyebrows. Its primary function is to bring spiritual growth, intuition, and wisdom. When the energy in the Ajna is free flowing one will experience compassion, self-confidence, mental clarity, focus, better sleep patterns and over-all this energy field becomes a portal into a higher consciousness of being.

The energy fields of the Third Eye Chakra develop between the ages of 35-42. This coincides with the timing of life experience and is based on the power of intuition which for most of us does not develop until much later in life. Yoga sequences offer a perfect platform to create the stage for you to tap into the Ajna chakra. Most of us are not in tune with our intuitiveness and opening the Third Eye. Using yoga and breathwork offer a great foundational starting point.

Below are a list of the Pascha Chocolate TOP 3 Recommended Yoga Poses to support your Third Eye Chakra -

Balasana (Child's Pose)
Balasana (Child's Pose)
Child's Pose - Balasana

1. Child’s Pose - Balasana

To get into Child’s Pose also known in yoga as a resting pose you will first kneel on the floor with your toes together and your knees about hip width apart. Now lean forward, having your palms on the ground, extending your arms and reaching forward. As you breathe on the exhale push your lower body into your knees and your palms into the ground, up and away from the body extending through the crown of the head. Make sure your shoulders are down and relaxed. Take a few breaths and settle into the pose.

Forward Bend - Uttanasana
Forward Bend - Uttanasana
Hero Pose - Virasana
Eagle Pose - Garudasana

2. Forward Bend - Uttanasana

Begin standing tall with your feet hip distance apart and pushing into the ground (Mountain Pose - Tadasana). Inhale raise arms over head and on the exhale bend forward lengthening from the torso bending at the hips and not the waist. Allow for a slight knee bend if needed and touch your toes, the floor or a block. Let the crown of your head hang and breathe into the pose.

3. Eagle Pose - Garudasana

Begin once again in Mountain Pose - Tadasana. Stand with your feet either together or hip distance apart. Bend slightly at the knees, engage your core, shoulders back and down pushing through the crown of your head. Now shift the weight from one foot and cross it over the other leg's thigh. Either rest on the thigh or hook the foot behind the calf. Staying on the same side you started, cross that elbow over the other bringing the palms or backs of your hands together. Now squeeze your legs together while sitting back into a chair pose. Lift your elbows to shoulder height if possible, reaching your hands forward. Breath into this and repeat doing the opposite side.

In addition, to yoga movements breath-work plays a huge role in opening up the Ajna or Third Eye Chakra:

Breath of Fire: Start in a seated cross-legged position extending through your crown. Place your hands on your knees facing up. Inhale through your nose and forcefully exhale through your nose engaging your abdominal muscles. Your exhales are forceful and inhales passive. The rhythm of this breathing involves inhaling passively while exhaling forcefully. The exhales should be loud and conscious. Continue for 15 seconds slowly increasing based on tolerance.

Breath of Fire is not recommended for those who are pregnant.


Last, but not least, our vegan pure dark chocolate also supports unblocking of all of our Chakras.

Science continues to prove powerful properties in the cocoa bean that support our inner health in many ways, especially our mind/body connection. When doing Chakra work chocolate supports the body by engaging all the chakras. By smelling, consciously tasting and chewing Pascha's pure dark chocolate it activates the chakra energy through the power of the senses acting as a powerful medium to Chakra work.